Flyye Yote Backpack in AOR1 Overview and Review

photo (21) copy 3

Along with my Flyye 6094k, I picked up a Flyye Yote backpack in AOR1 in a recent Ehobby order to form the basis of the 2010 SEALs kit that the rest of the team is putting together. Backpacks aren’t traditionally something I’ve had a lot of interest in, but having gamed my MAP pack on its own and having purchased a Tasmanian Tiger Essentials Pack (review here), I’ve come to appreciate the utility of a good backpack, especially during milsims but even on regular game days. After finding out that the Eagle Yote is the go-to patrol backpack for SEALs, I jumped at the opportunity to pick one of these Flyye replicas up.

More pics, including a general overview of the pack’s features and my impressions/review, after the break.

photo (23)

The defining characteristic that sets the Yote apart from most other backpacks is the large kangaroo pouch. The “pouch” (I’ll refer to it as such although really it’s just a large open area between the main backpack and the back panel) is large enough to carry pretty much anything, including a secondary AEG (preferably one with a foldable stock) or a helmet – this is the most common usage of this pouch in reference pictures I’ve found of the real Yote out in the wild.

As you can see in the above picture I can easily toss my MICH 2001 replica in there without any problem and with room to spare. You can toss most other large gear items in this area, especially if you require quick access to it, since it’s open-topped and you can access whatever’s in there without undoing any zippers. Smaller items will bounce around quite a bit, however, and you’ll carry the risk of losing items if they fall out while you’re running around.

photo (22)

On the outer panel of the kangaroo pouch are two accessory pouches. The upper one is a smaller one about the size of most admin pouches, and is useful for carrying smaller tools/gadgets that you want easy access to in the field. I usually chuck my multitool, hop adjustment tools, zip ties, tape, and other such small things in there. The lower pouch is a little larger and is useful for storing medium-sized bits of gear, such as toques, eye pro, slings, and things of that size.

There are two velcro areas on the outer part of the pack for attaching velcro patches – one is tailor made for a name tape and the other is just large enough for a medium-sized patch, such as the callsign patch I have in these pics. I imagine a flag patch would look good on there too.

photo (21)

On either side of the main compartment are two vertical accessory pouches. I found these useful for storing batteries in an easy to access spot. Gas chargers (including the faux-flashbang/smoke grenade type) can easily fit in these pouches as well. I could see myself tossing some granola/power bars in here for quick access during longer milsims. Glowsticks would be a good fit in there as well.

photo (20)

The main compartment of the Yote is moderately sized, being roughly the same size as the Tasmanian Tiger Essentials Pack and the Eagle MAP. This means it’s roomy enough to carry a water bottle, mags/BBs/BB loader, and perhaps a lunch… but not much more than that. The main compartment also has the necessary accessories to carry a hydration bladder should you choose to use one. I tossed my water bottle in here along with my extra mags and BBs/BB loader, which saved me time between games in that I could simply swap my used up mags for the fresh ones in my pack and didn’t have to waste time reloading spent mags.

photo (22) copy

The Yote has two very comfortable and well padded shoulder straps as well as a cross-sternum strap that makes it very easy to wear for extended periods of time. The straps are adjustable and can expand/compress depending on how you want to carry the pack as well as the weight of the items you have in there. It’s also worth noting that the Yote has plenty of loops on the main pack and on the straps for lashing various bits of gear to – I personally don’t see myself taking advantage of this feature but props to the designers for thinking of it.

photo (21) copy 4

The straps are also removable altogether should you wish to weave the pack directly to the back of a plate carrier, in a similar fashion to Eagle’s MAP. Personally I’m not a fan of MOLLE mounted backpacks, as they force you to remove your plate carrier entirely if you wish to access its contents – otherwise you’ll have to ask a buddy to retrieve items for you. It’s nice that the option is there, however, should you wish to take that route. Most reference pics I’ve seen of the Yote in the wild show it being worn with the backpack straps, likely for the same reasons that I’ve outlined above.

As with most Flyye products, the Yote is well constructed and the build quality is solid as far as replica gear goes. The zippers look like they can stand up to some abuse, and the weaving is even and reinforced in high stress areas. As I noted in my review of the Flyye 6094k, the material is a little thinner than I would’ve liked, especially when compared to Pantac gear (Pantac is still my favorite replica gear manufacturer). I don’t have the Eagle Yote to compare to, but I would imagine that the material is thicker/stronger on the real deal than with this replica.

All in all, though, I’m definitely satisfied with my purchase. The numerous integrated pouches make finding the right items easy and accessible, which I consider to be the main flaw of my other two packs (the MAP has only one integrated pouch and the Tasmanian Tiger Essential Pack doesn’t have any). Its primary use will obviously be on the field, but I’m considering picking up one in a less conspicuous color (perhaps OD or RG) to use as a midweight EDC.

-dizzy

5 responses to “Flyye Yote Backpack in AOR1 Overview and Review

  • Bob Lee Swagger

    do you mind to share with me or reply to this comment so I can follow your update regarding what I’ve commented to you about this flyye yote material quality and performance from the pack?

    I would like to know how’d you like it so far till today with this pack? cause it’s seem quite hard to find any yote made by eagle industries anymore.

    I just wondering if the quality and the build material is almost the same and strong I would consider to get flyye to use for hiking, bike. and travelling for long time. Need your input for flyye yote. The material itself doesn’t make the pack has hole or tear the fabric of the pack isn’t it?

    and my apologize for my bad grammar.

    • dizzy

      Hi Bob, apologies first and foremost for the delayed response!

      I’ve had the pack for almost a year now and so far I haven’t had any problems with it with regards to material quality and performance – but this being said, I haven’t been using it for any “hard” applications (my use of the pack has been limited to normal game days and during Operation: Iceback last year).

      If I had to guess I’d say that Flyye build material would be good for airsoft purposes, but for hiking/biking/travelling I would suggest looking at another, more reputable “real steel” brand. If you must pick up a replica, I’d suggest Pantac, as while they are still an “airsoft replica” company, their build quality and material quality are a little bit above that of Flyye. I believe Pantac also makes a Yote replica.

      Thanks for your visit, and please let me know if you have any further questions/concerns. 🙂

      Cheers!

  • Bob Lee Swagger

    Thx man, appreciate your thought on this one. and I’ve been looking for this replica yote just for my daily use. I’m not planning to use in a hardcore situation. but sometimes when I travel one country to another country, I’m looking a pack that can carry lot’s of stuff but not that big. Just like Yote.

    but seem from the photo that you had, it’s rockin steady and ready to rock.

    anyway, maybe by any chance you carry mystery ranch pack?

    Greetings from California man.

    • dizzy

      Hey Bob,

      Yes, if you’re using it for daily use then it should hold up quite well. Again, I would look into getting the Pantac version if you can, as Pantac is generally a bit higher quality than Flyye.

      Haven’t had a chance to try any Mystery Ranch packs. Not really into backpacks in general, although I may consider picking up an Arc’Teryx Khard for the summer… will be sure to put up a review on that when/if I pick it up.

      Thanks again for your visit – greetings from BC, Canada!

      • Bob Lee Swagger

        Hi Dizzy,

        Thank’s for the reply. and sure thing and will do. Thank you so much for your thoughts and your input about the yote pack.

        Well, Arc’teryx would be a great choice for your daily stuff too. I know they’re pricey but they’re quality are damn nice and price won’t lie for the quality itself.

        Will wait for your next gear review my friend.

        Take care mate and always watch your six. Cheers !!

Tell me your thoughts

