RIP Oakley Factory Pilot Gloves, 2010-2013

photo (25)These Oakley Factory Pilot gloves have long been my favorite pair of airsoft gloves. They are a little on the heavier and bulkier side as far as gloves go, but with that weight comes significant protection while still allowing you decent digital dexterity (yay alliteration!).

They are also very well made, having lasted me a good three years of almost weekly/bi-weekly use. A couple of times I’ve had to sew up the tears in the heavy use areas in the left index finger and other high use spots, and I’m confident this pair could go another year or two if I really wanted. But when my bro Whiskey made a trip down south and asked me if I wanted anything from the Oakley outlet, I figured now would be as good a time as any to pick up a new pair (I also asked him to get me some Oakley SI Assault Boots, which I’ll review once I get a chance to actually wear them for a day).

Recently I’ve tended to move towards slimmer, lighter gloves (Nomex flight gloves and Mechanix originals, mainly), but these Oakleys will always have a place in my heart. I think I’ll cut the worn and torn parts off the fingers and use them as summer gloves. I can’t bear to part with them.

-dizzy

2 responses to “RIP Oakley Factory Pilot Gloves, 2010-2013

Tell me your thoughts

