G-Code DLS Leg Platform: High-Ride Modification

I recently picked up a few more goodies, one of which was a G-Code XST holster for 1911 mounted on a G-Code DLS drop-leg single platform. Review on the G-Code XST holster + DLS platform + 1911 usage coming soon… I.E. after I’ve actually gamed it. Only done some simple practice with it thus far, haven’t tested it hard enough to know how well it will work yet. Pictured below (with the do-it-yourself modified Drop Leg Single belt loop) is my new G-Code holster.

IMG463

More on this modification after the break.

This is actually my first G-Code holster, so I was actually pretty stoked to get it for a great deal from “PriarieChicken” who now lives elsewhere and doesn’t have the time to play as much Airsoft as he once did – hence he was selling a bunch of stuff for cheap. I very excitedly impulse-bought the holster + leg platform.

That being said, I learned something about the G-Code DLS platform very quickly, after I got home – it rides really low, even when adjustments are maxed out towards raising it as high as possible the way it comes from the packaging (see inset picture below copied directly from G-Code’s website).

Height of the drop leg platform relies on looping the long, velcro-free end of the velcro belt loop through the platform and securing it wherever possible. Slight problem for me – I like my drop leg platforms significantly higher nowadays, as this gives me more stability and a more natural feeling draw (I don’t have to over-extend my arm for the sidearm and holster).

Google-fu turned up nothing except for one blurry picture from someone’s buy-and-sell classified ad on some gun/gear forum – the picture hosting itself had actually expired so I couldn’t even get a decent look at how the seller had modified his leg strap for a high ride leg platform. I unfortunately can’t find this picture’s source anymore, but what I had to work with was the following picture from somewhere unknown on the internet:

images

And, so without further ado, I started cutting nylon off of my belt loop to somewhat resemble what I could see in that single picture that somewhat detailed the modified strap. I had to lop off the long trailing end that didn’t have velcro and would have normally looped through the leg platform. I also chopped the little keeper, as it was getting in the way of threading the modified belt loop through the platform – I guess this means I have yet another nylon/velcro keeper to add to the collection.

IMG501

The way I have it mounted to the platform is slightly different than what I could make out in the reference picture I had, but hey, it works. I did run the belt loop over and outside of the top of the leg platform because I figured it would help keep the top portion of the platform closer to my hip – a drop leg that wobbles less is a better drop leg, right? I actually have no idea if this works as I envisioned it would, as I haven’t even run with this G-Code holster/leg platform rig yet.

IMG469

Utilizing this modified belt loop, I can actually adjust the ride of the holster more than just the velcro will allow, depending on which of the DLS loops I thread the leg strap through. It’ll be more of a set and forget ordeal for me, though, as I’ll likely be running this holster off of a Riggers belt most (if not all) of the time.

IMG466

Yeah, not the best picture of the modification, but it does show you how the belt loop rides really close to the hood release. Initially this was cause for concern for me, but after dry-fire testing it quite a bit, it doesn’t seem to impede the function of the button… even with the loop woven through the lower loops, resulting in the leg platform and holster riding higher.

IMG488

As you might be able to tell in the above pictures, I’ve added a small strip of grip tape or skateboard tape or whatever you want to call it to the hood release button thing. As I’m actually quite accustomed to releasing a Safariland SLS hood by a specific thumb position on the hood as I press down and acquire a firing grip on the sidearm, the position of the G-Code XST groove pattern for where I guess my thumb is supposed to go is actually pretty far out of the way. The DIY addition of the grip tape allows me a little bit more consistent purchase on the otherwise slick injection moulded plastic part of the hood release button or lever. More on this later, probably will be lumped in with the future G-Code XST holster review that I will be writing.

-juicy

One response to “G-Code DLS Leg Platform: High-Ride Modification

Tell me your thoughts

