Review: G-Code XST Holster & DLS Leg Panel

I’ve been reading about and watching videos on the more recent G-Code holsters lately. Lots of hype. I like holsters and I like Kydex, so it was only natural for me to grab a used one when once-local player “PriarieChicken” put his XST holster & DLS panel up for sale.

IMG473

The G-Code XST holster you see here is for a full size 1911 without rail, and is finished in the coyote tan option. Attached is the G-Code DLS (drop leg single) leg panel with single leg strap, also in coyote tan.

More photos, features and my thoughts on these are after the break.

The XST holster is a single piece of thick Kydex wrapped around your sidearm, with a spring-loaded hood assembly. The adjustable tension on the holster allows for Level 2 retention when used in conjunction with the hood.

IMG477

Note that the components of the hood are in fact black injection-moulded plastic, whereas the hood itself and the holster body are made from matching colour Kydex. All fasteners are a nice flat black and seem to be sufficiently tight.

IMG472

Clear sight/controls channels and minimal tension around the trigger guard by design allow for a very smooth draw and re-insertion into holster.

IMG489

That being said, I generally like my Kydex holsters to have a little bit more tension when retaining my sidearm. I did crank my adjustment screw to the point at which there is an audible pop as I pull (or insert) my sidarm from my holster, this will prevent my 1911 from flying out of the holster in the event that the hood is not in the upright and locked position.

IMG486

The feature that is unique to the G-Code XST holsters (as versus the OSH holster line) is the hood. This features a spring-assisted release of the hood at the press of a button… though I found that the intended placement for my strong-hand thumb placement on the release to be in an uncomfortable position. I’m used to running my Safariland 6004 on a 6004-10 high ride leg panel with my 1911’s, so I did all I can to make the G-Code hood release in a similar fashion. This was accomplished on the hood release by placing a small strip of self-adhesive skate tape in the same position that I would use my thumb to release the Safariland hood when drawing from my 6004. In this set up, I’m indexing the front edge of the skate tap, though I have more margin for error than with the Safariland hood, as I can depress the button at any point along the button and the spring tension will still release the hood.
IMG487Quick note on the XST hood – it is designed to retain and release around a fully cocked hammer on the 1911 model. Carrying hammer down will allow the hood to be forced into position to lock, though releasing the hood from here is not the usual snappy affair. G-Code moulded in space to accomodate a variety of different style safety levers (ambidextrous safeties included… big plus here for use with the many custom 1911 part options out there) in both “safe” and “fire” positions – I personally carry my 1911’s on the field in “condition 1”: round in chamber, hammer cocked, safety on… and have had no issues doing so.IMG495The DLS leg panel is another sheet of Kydex, though it is contoured for comfort around the edges, as well as the whole thigh rig contours to my leg nicely. Note that I did not like the ride height I was getting with the G-Code DLS leg panel – more on that in my earlier DIY article here. This was fixed with some simple cutting, and the holster now attaches to my belt much higher.IMG463The leg strap on the DLS is really nice – elastic material with the rubber grippy strips, the best of the both leg straps that you find on Blackhawk Tactical Serpa’s and Safariland 6004’s.IMG485This high-ride mod to the belt loop of the DLS does result in the holster riding really close to the belt loop, so I did have to add a few washers that may or may not have originally come with the holster. The previous owner had been using these washers when mounting it to a (modified) repro Blackhawk CQC leg panel.IMG479G-Code offers the RTI option on all of their holsters and holster platforms, though I had already opted out of this  for my first G-Code (in my mind), even before seeing this one for sale. Modular platforms are nice, but they add a small bit of bulk to the holster – I already am walking my drop leg holsters into things as is, I really don’t need more holster sticking out to get caught on more stuff as I move around. In retrospect though, I think I would like the XST hood mounted on my belt or on a drop-and-offset duty mount. I’ve read or watched review after review touting that the G-Code RTI wheel is one of the most secure and easiest to use modular holster attachment system on the market… so my next G-Code will probably have the RTI system installed from the factory.
IMG475Note that the G-Code screw pattern does not exactly match with Blackhawk, Blade-Tech, or Safariland platforms. It is its own thing, though from what I can see in product photos, G-Code holster platforms have built-in holes drilled for angle adjustments available, G-Code’s RTI compatibility, and ambidextrous holster mounting (presuming you have the correct holster for your hand).IMG464All in all, was the G-Code XST holster worth it for my 1911’s? Yes, but…
… It doesn’t really offer anything special asides from the spring-loaded hood that I can’t get in my Blade-Tech OWB (smooth draw comparable to the G-Code) or Safariland 6004 (the SLS hood offers the same hood-style Level 2 retention, and the 6004-10 platform offers the same shape of leg platform) holsters. Full firing grip is something that is a must on the holsters I buy nowadays, as is suitable strength and reliabilty for regular Airsoft gameplay – I’ve tried many a holster that have failed these two criteria for me, but the Blade-Tech, Safariland and G-Code offerings I’ve tried all seem to accomplish this just fine.
That is, until I get myself a G-Code holster using the RTI system, which will probably be my next holster purchase. I’ve been eyeing the G-Code SOC series of holsters, as that adjustable light cowling design looks pretty cool.

Tell me your thoughts

