Nomex Flight Gloves

photo (47)

 

Nomex flight gloves have long been a favorite in various armed forces units around the world and with good reason – they’re a great pair of gloves. They are low-profile, comfortable gloves that allow for a maximum range of digital dexterity while still protecting you from the minor bumps/scratches you may encounter on the field. The leather palms are very grippy and ensure you have won’t be having your primary slip out of your hands any time soon.

They rely on a single small strip of elastic stitched into the underside of the wrist to stay on your hands, which is nice because it allows for a relatively loose fit in the wrist area compared to other pairs of gloves that rely on velcro for retention. This means more breathability, which will come in handy during those long summer afternoons in the sun.

These gloves don’t provide a lot of protection from BB impacts, though, so they’re probably not the best for use in CQB environments (I’ll be using my Oakleys for that). I gamed these gloves at yesterday’s Bellator Entertainment game day and as I was raising my hand to signal I was hit, I immediately got (unintentionally) zinged in the back of the hand with two hits from Turtle’s M249 SAW from ten feet away – thanks, Turtle! That left some nasty looking bruises on the back of my hand, despite the gloves.

Anyway, Nomex flight gloves of this design can be bought from multiple sources/manufacturers, but I bought my pair from this ebay auction- shipping was quick and the gloves themselves are of great quality (though I probably could have done with one size larger, they still fit me, well, like a glove). At around $25CAD shipped, they’re a bargain.

Also, they’re fire proof. Y’know, in case your motor spontaneously combusts. If you have my luck with guns, that’s pretty much inevitable.

One response to “Nomex Flight Gloves

  • thexreptilexhouse

    Reblogged this on The Reptile House and commented:
    These are great, tactile, mobile gloves which are often overlooked in favour of flashier, features-rich padded gloves with big business sponsorship deals, product placement and massive marketing budgets.

    Awesome write up from Overhoppers blog.

Tell me your thoughts

