AOR1 6094 Update

I had to buy two separate rigs to make my one rig. Like a boss.

I had to buy two separate rigs to make my one rig. Like a boss.

My goal all along for my SEALs AOR1 6094 has been to toss the 6094k front plate onto a 6094a, and thanks to a recent teammate’s shootercbgear.com order (thanks again, Dirt and Mondue!), I was able to finally do that.

The combined rig you see above combines the best of both worlds – the awesome K front plate with the versatility of the A’s well designed cummerbund. As you can see the MOLLE cummerbund allows me to mount a GP on my off side (so as not to interfere with the belt mounted sidearm draw on my strong side). This allows me to mount my BBs/batteries/utilities within easy reach, without resorting to using a pack (although I love my Yote and will still be using it from time to time and especially for sims).

The “wingman” pouches present on the A cummerbund also allow me to carry my radio pouch within the cummerbund instead of having to rely on a separate pouch. It’s still within easy reach should I need to make volume/channel adjustments, which is important during gameplay and especially important if you’re wearing Sordins or other headsets (this is the main reason why I don’t mount my radio on my back like I’ve seen others do).

The A shoulder pads are immensely comfortable and make up for one of the major downsides of the K, which was the thin, non-padded shoulder straps. The A pads also have convenient cable/hydration tube routers, which is always nice to have.

IMG_1546

As you can see the backplate is mostly bare save for my blade antenna (which was lifted from my MARSOC kit and is purely for aesthetics) and a MOLLE drop pouch which is on there to carry a water bottle. The latter will be replaced shortly with an AOR1 hydro pack. I’m undecided on what else to toss on the back, although some smoke/flash/slap charge pouches seems to be the popular choice.

I think I’ll go with the slap charges. I came up with an awesome idea when discussing this with Juicy the other day – I’ll draw the slap charge from my back like a sword and use it as a melee weapon. Then I’ll shout “you’ve been slapped!” whenever I hit someone with it.

Y’know, because it’s a slap charge. A slap charge. See what I did there?

4 responses to “AOR1 6094 Update

  • juicy

    You’re missing half the part about the “slap charge” – you have to charge at people before slapping them!

  • juicy

    Something I would like to add after fiddling with Jester’s Flyye -A front and Flyye -K rear: the Flyye 6094A front accepts large SAPI plates (6094B), whereas the Flyye 6094K back accepts medium SAPI plates. This leads me to believe that the Flyye 6094A is a large and the Flyye 6094K is a medium – Dizzy, can you confirm this?

    • dizzy

      I don’t have large SAPI plates so I can’t confirm, but the 6094A front does look significantly roomier than the K front, so I wouldn’t be surprised if this were the case.

Tell me your thoughts

