R-Hopping: Part One

Image above of HS5 Armory IR-Hop Z-Kit borrowed from Airsoftstore.ca.

I purchased the above HS5 Armory IR-Hop Z-Kit from Airsoftstore.ca a couple of months ago but have been putting off installation of it for a number of reasons, not the least of which was the fact that I was intimidated by what I thought would be a significant amount of tinkering/fiddling with the installation (and I think we all know I’m not the most confident/skilled gunsmith out there, but I’m improving!). I also wanted to wait until I got my hands on a better hop unit (a Lonex unit) and inner barrel (Prometheus 6.03), but of which I now have. Nonetheless, I was still afraid I would completely bungle the installation and my Mk18 Mod 0 would spontaneously combust for no reason at all.

As with most things in life, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, and my Mk18 hasn’t blown up (yet).

The installation isn’t perfect, far from it; my Mk18 currently functions more like an anti-aircraft gun than an assault rifle with its ridiculous amount of overhop, far too much for my own good (heh). And that’s with zero hop and shooting 0.28g BBs. That being said, the BB does fly pretty straight and true until about 200+ feet, at which point it arcs sharply upward. I’ll have to tinker with the installation and hopefully have it working perfectly by this Sunday, at which point I’ll do a video overview of the installation.

Until then, stay tuned.

Tell me your thoughts

