Safariland 7377 7TS ALS Holster

Pictured here is Safariland’s Model 7377 7TS ALS Concealment Belt Slide Holster. I own the Model 7377-83-551 for Glock 17/22 in STX Tactical, FDE. A newer offering from Safariland on the market, I noticed this just arrived at DS Tactical in New Westminster, BC. As I’m a little bit of a tactical holster junkie, I was immediately intrigued by the futuristic looking exterior of the holster and decided on the spot that I simply must try it.

IMG2171

To summarize my thoughts on the Safariland Model 7377 7TS ALS holster: an affordable real-deal Safariland holster that sacrifices nothing in quality and offers updated technology.

Read on after the break for more of my thoughts and photos.

The holster body itself is produced from a single sheet of some sort of high quality polymer that appears to be proprietary to Safariland – I haven’t seen anything else quite like it in any of the holsters I’ve seen. This new technology makes the 7TS holster line possible. Upon further research, Safariland apparently calls their nylon material “Safari 7.” This material is much more thin than your typical STX Tactical finished Safariland holsters, as well as being much lighter.

IMG2181

Even though the one piece construction of this pattern means that the holster must be folded over to create two 90 degree angles that appear quite weak, after doing some research, I beat the crap out of mine with a mallet and it held up fine to that… Safariland does manage to hold up to its reputation of building great holsters after all.

IMG2182

There’s not a ton of friction exerted from the holster, though this appears to be a result of several thin fins inside the holster rather than a flat sheet of material making full contact with an inserted sidearm. This is apparently by design from Safariland, to allow foreign materials to slip through instead of locking up in between the inside surface(s) of the holster and a sidearm.

IMG2197

The light tension means for a really easy draw stroke, as all that is required is the active release of the locking mechanism(s) – the model I own is ALS only. I imagine that this means that the ALS is required for retention in this holster – if the system breaks or is removed, the holster is pretty much useless for retaining your weapon. Re-insertion of sidearm into the holster is equally as light.

IMG2192

Pictured here is inside of the Safariland ALS or “Automatic Locking System,” which locks onto the top of the ejection port of whatever holstered pistol it is designed for. I personally like the Safariland ALS, as I find it easy to use with a full firing grip and very little practice – yet different enough from conventional systems that wandering hands won’t be able to snatch your sidearm from you (Tristan or “Goggles,” I’m thinking about you).

IMG2184

However, I’ve previously had issues in sandy environments with Safariland’s ALS. When sliding down a berm with another Safariland holster under me, all the clay that made up the slope got scooped into the holster and found its way between the locking mechanism and holster body, causing the ALS to lock up and fail to release immediately thereafter. Though this was easily remedied by a quick shake of my leg and the holster, I’m not entirely convinced that 7TS holster incorporating the ALS and new body design will still be afflicted by this issue – only extended hard use will tell if this holster is any better, as I usually don’t end up going down hills holster first if I can avoid it.

IMG2187

Attached to the back on this one is the Safariland belt slide (though this model can also be purchased with the paddle attachment). The screw pattern matches other Safariland holsters and thus can be adapted to fit other platforms. The Safariland belt slide is a simple injection moulded polymer material that does have a tiny bit of flex to it, without being brittle.

IMG2176

Out of the package, the belt slide will run on 1.5″ width belts, though the two tabs can be cut off to fit over 1.75″ belts. On mine, I’ve just taken a pair of pliers to these tabs and bent them slightly out of the way as I usually don’t wear beefy reinforced gun belts and don’t really need the full length of these slots to cram a belt through. It now fits securely as is with a Blackhawk 1.75″ Riggers Belt, without cutting off those tabs.

IMG2178

This simple belt slide mounting system allows for a very low profile fit on my belt that I was pleasantly surprised with, considering my previous experiences with a few much bulkier Safariland holsters (from the Tactical or Duty lines, not Concealment). Pictured here mounted on a simple 5.11 Double Duty TDU 1.5″ belt, before doing some preliminary testing on the field this past weekend with my regular belt.

IMG2198

The following two photos are of the Owner’s manual for the existing 7TS line of holsters (Models 7377, 7378).

IMG2188

IMG2189

I don’t own a real Glock (full size in this case, 17 or 22) to test this with, nor do I ever intend to. I cannot confirm exact fitment with a Glock because of this, though Safariland is very good at getting this aspect right every time.

IMG2177

Pictured here is the flawless fitment with a KJ G23 GBB. ALS locks perfectly.

IMG2190

Pictured here is the improper fitment with a WE G18C Gen 3 GBB. This is as far as I could comfortably push in the WE G18C before the tension became too much; the WE Glock series is cloned after the Tokyo Marui Glock’s, which feature larger dimensions akin to the real Glock 21 (I searched long and hard for a sturdy holster to run my old Marui G17 in).

IMG2194

… time to acquire a GBB pistol to fit this holster…

3 responses to “Safariland 7377 7TS ALS Holster

  • Haythem Kenway

    o.o that’s pretty…

  • Richard

    Did you ever find a Glock 17 to fit ? I have KWA Glock 17 and this holster and it is a very tight fit getting the Glock all the way in and it takes a lot of pull to get it back out again. I’m hoping with continued use it will ease up a bit. There doesn’t seem to be anyway to of adjusting the tension.

    • juicy

      A real Glock 17 fits, yes. I haven’t owned a KSC or KWA Glock in years, so I can’t speak to that. Marui will not fit. KJ G23 is what I have been using in mine, no problems there.

      There is no tension adjustment on the 7TS ALS holsters that I am aware of. I don’t find that Safariland products “loosen up” over time.

Tell me your thoughts

