Airsoft Shopping in Japan – Day 2

A couple less stores visited as I was short on time yesterday evening before the shops close up – though I did spend more time in each, perusing their selections of parts.

First, I attempted to find Mil-Freaks, only to discover that the address was not in fact a walk-in retail store (I later re-read the contact info on their website to discover that they are online business only). Mil-Freaks was of interest due to the producr line being mostly ACM, Flyye, Hong Kong brands and some US-made tactical gear; just the kind of stuff I’m usually shopping for when on my own free time. As with many of the locations I found with Google maps for the keywords “airsoft tokyo” for First Japan, this was a residential address as well from the looks of it.

image

Air Borne Gun Shop was my next shopping stop. Though a little out of the beaten path, this has been my favourite shop so far for just pure selection of AEG parts – a plethora of stuff was just everywhere. The shopkeeper spoke limited English, but had enough technical vocabulary to help me find the correct hardness of hop up buckings that I was looking for. Unfortunately, I didn’t get his name or business card – but I definitely would recommend this shop to anyone in the Tokyo area looking for specific AEG stuff (lots of GBB parts too – Magna platform GBBR’s in particular). Some PTW parts, but more than I’ve seen at any of the other stores I visited (which had none) – and it was a pleasant surprise to hear the tech test firing one in the back (oh, how I’ve missed that sound). A whole corner was dedicated to real steel parts, including a number of optics from the likes of Aimpoint and Night Force (and at 2x the price of what I can get those for at home). I do wish I had gotten a PDI 05 barrel while I was there… they had each of the common lengths I was looking for in-stock, and at the best prices I’ve seen so far. An Orga widebore wouldn’t have hurt at the prices there either – much less than any price I’ve seen outside of Japan. However, the location is not on the JR train line I had gotten familiar with, so getting back there would have taken longer than I had time for in Tokyo.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Echigoya (their newer Shinjuku location) was last on my list. Not all the sales floor staff were super knowledgeable, nor was the level of spoken English as great as I had hoped for from a chain of Airsoft stores, but the variety of all things survival game related was second to none here – about the same number of categories of stuff as some of the bigger North American stores. Techs here also had limited English, but when I started asking questions about installing Flat Hop mods and the associated parts, they definitely perked up beyond what I observed from their interactions with previous local customers before me.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Tell me your thoughts

