Update #1: GHK AK74

I’ve recently received a variety of both “real steel” and Airsoft parts to begin the westernization process on my (relatively) new GHK AK74 GBB. This is just a little teaser for the time being – I’ll do short overviews on the individual components after I’ve had a chance to apply threadlocker and torque everything down properly.

IMG-20140128-WA0006

In the meantime, I’m trying to figure out a furniture scheme to go with here – all black or a mixture of a more tactical palette? Following the destruction of the stock GHK pistol grip in a week, I haven’t really bothered to get this gun up and running while I’ve been paying it off at work and the weather has been borderline too cold for any GBB.

20140128_213627

My AK74 magazines should arrive sometime tomorrow – though I unfortunately wasn’t able to secure a set of black magazines for myself and am now going to have to paint all of them as GHK’s crappy orange ABS attempt at a Bakelite finish is just hard on my eyes. A solid covering of Krylon Camouflage Brown, OD or Black are the options I’m pretty much settled on… but for the time being, I will start with the typical black as a base coat and then see how everything looks when its all in one piece.

Internals will remain stock for the time being – I was pleasantly surprised with this gun’s raw performance when I took it out to the field for a quick test drive before buying it. Consistency and flat range of the BB flight path was really something else that I haven’t yet experienced in a stock GBB, and in fact actually met and exceeded my minimum expectations for an AEG that I would game with on the field.

2 responses to “Update #1: GHK AK74

Tell me your thoughts

