LBT-6015A Coyote Tan (Old Gen)

From my latest LegitKit purchase through eBay – a used old gen London Bridge Trading radio pouch. Operator as f*ck with green zip ties, presumably to keep the knot on adjustable radio retention from coming undone. Previous owner Sharpie’d on his name, which was later obscured, presumably when he offloaded it.

image

Elastic on the side of the pouch looks like its been stretched out after a presumably long lifetime of use… excuse me a sec while I geek out about how this pouch has been used by someone “real.” (Frigging airsofter.)

image

Entire radio pouch looks different than what I’m used to, though namely because of the covered buckle. Much different way of getting that retention cord over the top of the radio than the flat buckles that are directly attached to the fabric on the newer gen pouches. Makes for a very different look compared to the vast majority of current generation radio pouches I’ve seen on the market nowadays.

image

image

Note that the fabric wrap over the buckle makes releasing said buckle a little more difficult for accessing the contents of this pouch. It does keep the buckle in place though, as without this, the design means that the buckle could freely flop 180 degrees all the way to pointing downward if disconnected.

image

A pair of drainage grommets. Perhaps two isn’t better than one, as current gen designs don’t have this anymore.

image

LBT MOLLE attachment system. Little bit different than the snaps I’m accustomed to on EI & Eagle clone pouches, but real simple to use and stays in there well enough from what I can tell.

image

Huge plus for my usages with radios other than my United Star MBITR repro: it is much smaller than the larger padded PRC-148/PRC-152 radio pouches that are common nowadays. For comparison’s sake is a newer gen LBT-6015A pouch, also from the same parcel.

image

Notable difference in fit of PRC-148 inside the pouch though – smaller size doesn’t fit the larger PRC-148 radio quite as well as the newer pouch. Padding and extra coverage presumably helps protect the radio in the newer pouch as well.

image

Pouch attachment system changed from old gen (right) to newer gen (left). Seems about the same to me… though I find the slightly shorter length of stiff webbing on the older pouch is a bit easier to weave, yet the snap on the newer gen would seem to be more secure as it can’t be removed by snagging the webbing and pulling straight down.

image

All in all, I actually like the older style more than the newer generation of 6015A pouch for my usage in Airsoft games, especially since I generally don’t carry a larger PRC-148 radio if I can avoid it.

Tell me your thoughts

