The Longest Serving Rifle: King Arms Galil MAR

If you have been playing Airsoft for any given length of time, and have owned an armourers worth of rifles, you will always notice a growing trend within your collection. There is that unkillable rifle that just won’t leave your inventory, no matter how you feel, or what your current position in life is at that point in time. If you know someone that sells off more guns than god in their collection, they will never tell you about that one rifle that has been in their hands since the start of their career.

Well, ladies and gentleman, I have my rifle. The one I just, no matter the circumstance, can’t come to grips with selling. This is my King Arms Galil MAR. This is this guns story. Or review… or something. This sentence was written after most of this article, and after reading it through one or two times, could be both a review / story. Make of it whatever you will.

Complete with paint and two-point sling, like all good Soviet-Style rifles should be like.

Complete with paint and two-point sling, like all good Soviet-Style rifles should be like.

This rifle has been with me since I started seriously airsofting sometime in 2011-2012, after I got out of VFS and was working. It has seen the dusts of the Tire Fort in Panther Paintball, and it has seen the rain atop the second story of that Castle at Tsawwassen, and no matter what the circumstance was, it had never failed me at any point in time that I had the guts to bring it out. Maybe it is due to the platform of gearbox it was built on, or perhaps it is just the way I play the game, sticking to semi-auto, and only taking shots I know will hit something. Either way though this rifle has seen me through the test of time. Here it is now, in front of the rest of the world, for me to review.

The make of this rifle is King Arms, a very good price / quality company that I have never had the guts to talk ill about, mostly because there hasn’t been a major thing I could say about them. They are a very good company for the price they normally ask for, and the products they create range from the marketable to the obscure (I’m looking at the Tommy Guns and the SIG series they create). And no matter the rifle they work on, the end user product always ends up the same.

A high quality exterior (for the price) with decent internals that could always use some TLC. Like Dizzy said in an article long before, King Arms to me is like the Honda of airsoft. It does the job for a cost-effective price, and if you ever need to get more performance out of it, just throw the entire suite of new parts into it, and it’ll readily accept it like its own child.

In terms of the King Arms Galil MAR, the company did not skimp out on the externals (albeit, there were a few features I wish they would’ve added in). From the outside, the full metal receiver (aluminum), coupled with the aluminum receiver cover and barrel, when worn in, gives a strong silver finish that could double as a prop gun if you ever wanted to rent them out to a film company or something along those lines. The flashhider isn’t removable as far as I can tell, but it does take the Madbull Gemtech Silencer well, which I had spare from a previous M4 build that went awry when I was working on it.

#artisticphoto

#artisticphoto

The stock is foldable, and is aptly known as the Galil Stock, due to the unique configuration that it sports (LCT makes an AK that uses this stock, which I don’t like since I’m a bit of a purist), which is sleek and slim, and damn sturdy against the shoulder. In this configuration with the Type 56 sling, the stock isn’t foldable, which I don’t really care about as I don’t like folding the stock on any gun that much. Inside the gun, the gearbox has gone through a few changes to enhance performance and reliability of the rifle.

Before, the King Arms Galil MAR, bought from a local retailer whose name shall remain anonymous, was an EBB, a neat feature that I didn’t notice for the longest time when I was playing. The system was connect to the piston inside the gearbox, so when the gun was fired, the piston moved the bolt along with it, which, for me, did nothing more than make the gun louder. I didn’t bother getting rid of it though as I was too lazy, and the gun, with .25’s, and a Guarder Tightbore barrel, was reaching out to people at 150 feet easy at Tsawassen. At the time, I didn’t care, so I never bothered working on it for the longest time.

Then came the time I put a Guarder High Torque Motor into the mix, increasing the trigger response dramatically from the old stock motor (may it rest in peace as it served me so well) This was around the time I started to use 11.1 LiPo’s from a local retailer, which later bit me in the ass since I was notoriously bad for not maintaining my guns often enough (electric blow backs are not fun to work on).

Right afterwards, in an effort to reach out and touch people, added a Prometheus Purple Bucking into the mix. Which, with .28’s and an Element H-Hop, did wonders to my range. The only time though I saw problems was when I was using .3’s (which I merely used to experiment with) which more than halved the range. This was also around the time I asked a local retailer to give the gearbox a once over with the Guarder Bore-Up Kit. She shot 400 and was doing fine for months to come.

Skip many months or so ahead, after buying a King Arms M4, 556, Thompson Submachine Gun, and a few LCT AK’s, I finally came back to the Galil MAR in an effort to make her reliable again. So I decided to give her the ol’ MOSFET and sorbothane pad, and the entire set of Guarder Parts, which had become a standard to all my guns. But when I opened her up at a local shop in town, the one thing I feared most turned up. Burnt-out switch.

I swore under my breath, and sighed heavily, knowing that I was going to have to buy a new switch assembly if I were to salvage all the parts I had in there… but then came another idea. A non-EBB box.

Type 56 sling for that extra "ad-hoc" look.

Type 56 sling for that extra “ad-hoc” look.

Some might be wondering why I would be getting rid of the electric blowback. I mean, I paid more for this version than a regular Galil would’ve run me. Why take it away? Well, it was a cool knick-knack that made the gun unique to the typical AEG, but unfortunately, it was by far the most annoying thing for me, especially from a maintenance perspective.

The way I thought about it at the time, I would rather have a gas blowback rather than a cute gimmicky rifle that was a nightmare to take apart (which is a little hypocritical, since I did enjoy the likes of the KWA ERG, BOLT, and TM Next Generation guns, whose recoil mechanisms make them fun to shoot). So I ended up buying a robust LCT Gearbox to replace the venerable King Arms EBB box that had seen more rounds through it than any of my other guns.

When all was said and done with the installation of the LCT Gearbox into the gun, the rifle was back on its feet, ready to see the daylight of game days once again. Little things I ended up doing (or having done to it through close friends) was the AOE correction through sorbothane pads, custom MOSFETS through a friend, and all the old parts I could salvage from the old gearbox that was once inside the gun. And the, still experimental, R-hop with the King Arms Stock Barrel I had lying around.

Now the King Arms Galil, aptly named “Michelle,” is on the field and ready to create all sorts of hell. From afar, or god-forbid, right up close and personal. She has taught me well how to play the airsoft game, from the days of being a newb and asking silly questions, trying to fit in, to the days where I now can reach out and touch people with a relatively cost-effective rifle (in relativeness to the venerable Systema). That is the story of my rifle.

Tell me your thoughts

