Random Airsoft Musings: the airsoft hiatus, and why it’s a good thing.

(above pic taken from the inside of one of the buildings at Operation: Iceback)

(above pic taken from the inside of one of the buildings at Operation: Iceback)

Firstly, my apologies for the lack of entries from yours truly in the past months – I’ve moved house and been thrown some new responsibilities at work, on top of the usual juggling of social life/girlfriend/family/personal health that we all deal with. But I’m still here, and no, I haven’t quit airsoft.

This particular entry is more of a reflection piece, so feel free to skip if it ain’t your cup of tea. More random musings after the break.

Over the past six months or so I’ve started doing something crazy: skipping every other week or two of airsoft. Sometimes it was to spend time with the significant other/family, sometimes it was to spend the day on my PC, sometimes it was out of sheer laziness – but whatever the reason, I don’t play every week like I used to.

And let me tell you – I’ve enjoyed it. The benefits are twofold: not only do I have more Sundays free to pursue my other interests, but I also find myself looking forward a lot more to the games I do attend. I guess playing every week burnt me out a little; it was all becoming a bit of a routine. But now that I only play a game (sometimes two) a month, I’ve come to really appreciate and look forward to the time I actually do spend on the field.

Artsy shot, again from Operation: Iceback

Artsy shot, again from Operation: Iceback

I’ve been hearing from a lot of people about how burnt out they are, how airsoft is becoming too routine, how all the noobs and some douchey vets aren’t calling their hits and ruining the game, how they’re thinking about moving on to other hobbies/sports. Fair enough. But may I suggest first taking a small step back from it all. Trust me – it helps.

On top of not playing every single week, I’ve also started drastically scaling back the amount of cash I’ve tossed into the financial black hole that is airsoft. We’re all guilty of it sometimes – that new AEG or part or hop-up mod or pair of boots or unicorn horn or whatever comes up on eHobby and we toss it into our carts because omg we must have it right now. I don’t even want to think about the total amount of money I was spending per month at certain points in my airsoft career.

But I’ve stopped the outrageous spending – the last thing I’ve bought was mags for my KWA ERG that I haven’t even used yet (that gun is waiting for a new rail and a rewiring job that may not happen for a few months), and that was in the springtime. In the meantime I’ve gone back to using the guns/gear I already have – and I’ve really come to appreciate some of the stuff I’ve had lying around. I have a new appreciation for my Pantac RRV. My PTW, having long been shelved in favour of new toys, is now back to being the workhorse it used to be. My Real Sword Type 56-1 is seeing a lot of use as well, as I’ve rediscovered how fun it is to shoot with iron sights (another benefit of not having the will or the cash to spend on optics for my ERG/PTW/SCAR-H).

And oh yeah – now I have more money to spend on stuff like food.

So that’s what’s been up with me over the past few months. No new toys to show off – just a new view on the game we all love to play.

Tell me your thoughts

