ARES M110 Project (Part 3): Setbacks and Lube

IMG_3180

That was a hilarious title for a post, I know.

Anyway, following the fixes detailed in my last post that involved swapping the V3 tappet plate for a V2 one, I took the M110 to the field this past weekend, and during lunchtime, gave it a shot. I had not one, but two new issues pop up.

Issue one: feeding issues.

Thankfully, I was able to chalk this one up to the BBs I was using – Tamashi brand 0.30s. I’ve had good luck with the Tamashi 0.25s I’ve used in the past, which fed perfectly in my IAR and yielded impressive results accuracy and range wise. I switched to 0.25s and the feeding issues largely disappeared, so I’m satisfied with just calling it a BB issue and leaving it at that. Some guns just inexplicably like certain weights/brands of BBs. The good news is it fed pretty reliably once I switched to the Tamashi 0.25s, so the feeding issues of the past couple of entries have been solved, at least for now.

The second issue is a little more concerning: the M110 is double cycling on semi-auto, which is obviously no bueno for an AEG shooting at DMR fps levels.

I opened up the box when I got home and cleaned then re-lubed (lol, lube) the entirety of the gearbox. I discovered that the likely culprit for the double cycling is the cut-off lever, which looks a little worse for wear. The previous owner of the gearbox warned me that this particular part was a little worn out, so I’m likely going to have to salvage the part from the new V2 box I ordered and toss that into the M110 box.

Sigh. The project continues…

2 responses to “ARES M110 Project (Part 3): Setbacks and Lube

  • Ryan

    Really interesting stuff on your M110. I’m looking into getting one because my god they look incredible, and I want to go into using DMRs, but I’ve heard from the retailers here in the UK that I shouldn’t go anywhere near this ARES rifle. I’ve been trawling the web for a while now looking for answers as to whether or not to get one and if it will break on me in a way that I may not know how to fix. (I’m not expert at all when it comes to internals of AEGs and couldn’t take a gearbox apart without ruining it. One day I might be able to)

    It seems from your blog posts that the rifle is maintenance HEAVY, and perhaps for someone as inexperienced as me (in regards to internals) this is going to be complex and potentially expensive?

    Any help will be very much appreciated!

    • dizzy

      Hi Ryan,

      I was in the same boat as you – the M110 is a gorgeous gun that definitely turns heads on the field, and that was one of the main reasons why I picked it up. Externally, it’s probably one of the best looking guns out there.

      Internally, things are a little more complicated. I would only suggest running the M110 if you’re prepared to do your own gearbox work (as I did), as it’s likely that you’ll need to tinker with the internals if you want the best possible performance out of the platform. Some of the parts are proprietary and can be costly to obtain. The mags are also proprietary, and are relatively rare/costly.

      If you’re really looking into DMRs and aren’t too experienced with regards to internals, may I suggest picking up a Mk12 SPR platform and using it as a DMR. That way you can learn how to tinker with a standard V2 box (as the Mk12 is basically an M4). Parts will be plentiful and cheap. Once you’re happy with your gunsmithing skills maybe then you can move on to the M110.

      Thanks for reading, and please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any more questions 🙂

      Cheers!

      Dizzy

Tell me your thoughts

